Autosport Awards –
the Biggest Night
in Motorsport

02 December 2018. London

  • Williams
  • The British Racing Drivers' Club
  • Bahrain International Circuit
  • DUO
  • McLaren
  • Pirelli
  • Richard Mille
  • Volopa


International Racing Driver of the Year

Open to professional racing drivers competing at an international level

Fernando Alonso

Once again he led the line for Ferrari, taking the fight to Red Bull. That was a forlorn task, but he never wavered in his efforts

Scott Dixon

A stunning fightback in the second half of the season delivered his third IndyCar title after fierce battle with Penske

Lewis Hamilton

Many doubted his move to Mercedes but he proved them wrong with victory in Hungary and four other podiums

Jimmie Johnson

Claimed a stunning sixth NASCAR Sprint Cup title as he continues to prove to be the best of his generation

Kimi Raikkonen

Started the year with a bang with victory in Australia, and his consistent scoring kept him in the world championship race

winner Sebastian Vettel

Another tour de force from the runaway champion and his Red Bull team. A fourth world title was secured with a remarkable nine consecutive wins

Racing car of the year

Open to cars competing in any class of circuit racing

Audi R18 e-tron quattro

Le Mans victory and a world title, in the year Audi hit 100 LMP wins

Audi RS5 DTM

Won DTM crown despite fierce opposition from BMW and Mercedes-Benz

Dallara GP3/13

New engine gave junior series a huge power boost, placing it between F3 and GP2

Lotus E21

Took the fight to Red Bull on numerous occasions, and proved kind to its Pirelli tyres

Mercedes F1 W04

Impressive raw pace produced three victories, including Monaco & Silverstone

winner Red Bull RB9

Adrian Newey’s latest creation was just as potent as its predecessors

International Rally Driver of the Year

Open to professional or semi-professional rally drivers in international events

Jan Kopecky

Continued Skoda’s success in regional rallying with an ultra-dominant performance in the European Rally Championship

Robert Kubica

Once he stopped crashing, the former F1 star turned on some real pace to dominate this year’s WRC 2 series

Sebastien Loeb

Citroen’s part-timer was ahead of the full-timers for much of the year. Two wins from four starts shows he’s still the man

Thierry Neuville

Blossomed into an M-Sport team leader under Malcolm Wilson’s leadership. Now the man most likely to win in a Fiesta

winner Sebastien Ogier

Would a year away from the coalface slow him down? Er, no. Incredible season of dominance from the ‘next’ great Seb

Stephane Peterhansel

This year meant another Dakar and another sublime victory. He has ruled the marathon event 11 times now

Rally car of the year

Open to cars competing in rallying from international to national level

Citroen DS3 RX

Scored an emphatic one-two in rejuvenated European Rallycross Championship

Ford Fiesta WRC

M-Sport did an exceptional job to keep the Fiesta at the sharp end without works input


Two Minis on the Dakar podium demonstrated the ability of this most unlikely desert racer

winner Peugeot 208 T16 Pikes Peak

With Loeb at the wheel, it smashed the Pikes Peak record

Skoda Fabia S2000

Fought the good fight against forced induction all season. Emerged with ERC title


Much was expected of this car and it delivered. On every level and every surface

British competition driver of the year

Open to British drivers competing at international level

Sam Bird

Led the new Russian Time team to the the GP2 title in its first year, and contributed to Merc’s F1 success in the simulator

Jenson Button

A difficult year with McLaren was a huge disappointment after all the promise of 2012. Kept working hard, despite everything

Paul di Resta

Strong start to the season highlighted by fourth place in Bahrain, but points finishes then became hard to come by

winner Lewis Hamilton

Five poles and five podiums in his debut season with Mercedes, including that brilliant victory in Hungary

Allan McNish

Clinched his first World Endurance Championship title with Audi after three wins, including the Le Mans 24 Hours

Justin Wilson

Driving for minnow Dale Coyne Racing, Wilson scored four podiums on his way to top-six IndyCar points finish

National driver of the year

Open to drivers racing in BTCC, British GT or Formula 3

Jonny Adam

A penalty may have denied him the crown, but Adam was a key part of Aston Martin’s successful British GT title bid

winner Andrew Jordan

Came of age as a touring car racer to beat the works teams and take his first crown with family Eurotech squad

Jordan King

Carlin driver was the class of the British F3 field and took the title, as well as being a podium finisher in European F3

Gordon Shedden

Few drivers have had as much bad luck as the reigning BTCC champ, but Shedden fought back to the runner-up spot

Jason Plato

MG ace scored more BTCC wins than anyone else this year - eight - and took the title fight down to the wire

Nick Tandy

Under-rated for too long, became a Porsche factory driver and put together British GT and ELMS title challenges

Rookie of the year

Open to professional racing drivers in their first season racing in their respective categories

winner Jules Bianchi

Made a flying start to his F1 career, and his 13th position in Malaysia secured Marussia in 10th ahead of Caterham in the points race

Valtteri Bottas

Third on the grid in Montreal was a stunning result in a tricky-to-drive Williams, followed up by a fine eighth and his first points at Austin

Max Chilton

Up against a quality performer in Bianchi, the Brit has certainly closed the gap in the second half of the season

Esteban Gutierrez

Has found going tough against Hulkenberg, but got into his stride recently with first points finish in Japanese Grand Prix

Sam Tordoff

Has taken his big BTCC break in style, with first win at Snetterton, and kept team-mate Plato on his toes throughout

Stoffel Vandoorne

Gave fellow McLaren junior driver Kevin Magnussen a run for his money with four FR3.5 victories in his debut season

British club driver of the year

Open to British drivers in any class of TOCA supports or equivalent and below

winner Dan Cammish

Absolutely unstoppable in British Formula Ford, taking a record 24 wins from 24 starts in his JTR Mygale

Josh Files

Team Pyro racer came out on top of a competitive Renault Clio Cup field and starred in Europe

Jake Hughes

Straight out of karting, impressed on his way to the inaugural BRDC Formula 4 Championship with Lanan

Tom Ingram

Dominant performance in Ginetta GT Supercup brought the 20-year-old JHR man the crown a meeting early

Michael Meadows

Achieved the rare feat of successfully defending his Porsche Carrera Cup title with new Samsung outfit

Chris Middlehurst

Great start to the year set MGR driver on his way to the Formula Renault BARC crown